2017 Union Sponsored Labor Day Events Around Iowa

Lucas: September 2: John L Lewis Parade and city events. Parade line up 10:45 am. Various events all day. www.coalmininglabormuseum.com/events.  641-766-6421 or 641-766-6544,

 

Clinton: Day Before Picnic – September 3. Eagle Point Park Lodge. Noon. Free Food Beverages, prizes and kid’s games. Politics Too!  Dave Keefer at dkeefer@lu25.org.  309-230-6476.

 

Burlington: September 4  – 4 pm.  40 & 8 Park (Located behind Community Field in Burlington) Single $5 and family $10. Ticket includes: Meal, Door Prizes, Kid Games and Bounce House.  Ryan Drew rdrew@local150.org  319-759-3188.

 

Cedar Falls: September 4 (Waterloo) Black Hawk Union Assembly.  Gateway Shelter 11:30 am. Serving food and drinks. Black Hawk Union Assembly. Rick Moyle rmoyle@hawkeyelabor.us  319-396-8461.

 

Cedar Rapids: September 4 Hawkeye Area Labor Council. 11 AM. Food, music and children entertainment. Hawkeye Downs, 4400  6th St. SW Cedar Rapids. Hawkeye Area Labor Council.  Music by members of the musician’s union. Rick Moyle rmoyle@hawkeyelabor.us  319-396-8461.

 

Des Moines: September 4-  Parade at 11 am. (Parade line up at 8 am)  March from Iowa Capitol to State Fairgrounds. Picnic for members, their families and special guests at Union Labor Park, 4640 Morningside Dr. Des Moines. noon to 5 pm.  Grills, charcoal and water provided. Mark Cooper mark@scifl.org  515-265-1862. South Central Iowa Federation of Labor.

 

Dubuque: September 4 –  Parade and Picnic. Parade starts at Jackson Park at 9#0am, 16th and Main and ends at 7 and Locust. Post Parade Picnic at Swiss Valley Park from noon to 2 pm. Tom Townsend tom@ibew704.com or 563-543-4708. Grand Marshall, Bruce Clark, retired APWU. Peter Hird pete@ibew704.com  563-542-5546.

 

Fort Dodge: September 4 – Picnic – 1 pm . Veterans Amphitheater at Kennedy Memorial Park. 1386 National Ave. Scott Punteney at spunteney@wilfaflcio.org.  402-657-1007. Western Iowa Labor Federation.

Iowa City: September 4 – Noon, Upper City Park, Shelter #2. People are encouraged to bring a side dish to share. All members, families and friends are invited to attend. Greg Hearns ghearns@iowalabor.com 319-361- 2371. Iowa City Federation of Labor. Rick Moyle rmoyle@hawkeyelabor.us  319-396-8461.

 

Keokuk: September 4 -Parade and Celebration all day at the Labor Temple. Pat Mahoney   pjmahoneys@gmail.com

 

Mason City: September 4 – North Iowa Nine Labor Assembly. Georgia Hanford Park, 2300 block of South Pennsylvania Ave.  11am. Hot Dogs and Hamburgers along with potato salad, beans, dessert and beverages. All are welcome. Rick Moyle rmoyle@hawkeyelabor.us  319-396-8461. Hawkeye Area Labor Council.

 

Quad Cities: September 4 – Parade 11am. Line up at 9 am at John Deere Harvester Works, lot at 1100 13th Ave in East Moline –  proceeds along 15th Ave. East Moline. Tyler Power 319-654-5894. tpower@unitedwayqc.org. Grand Marshal, Randy Donnelly, Retired AFGE.

 

Sioux City: September 4 – Picnic. Picnic 11 am. Riverside Park, 1301 Riverside Blvd. Scott Punteney atspunteney@wilfaflcio.org.  402-657-1007. Ernie Colt, 712-223-9423. Western Iowa Labor Federation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.